top of page

Smile! Or Don't Smile! (It's okay either way)

Not long ago, I saw a social media post from a senior portrait photographer bemoaning the fact that they could not get a subject to smile not matter what they tried. The photographer's frustration with the teen was obvious -- and to a point, it was understandable. Most parents who pay for senior portraits want to think of their children as happy and smiling.


Based on images I've seen of myself from babyhood on, I was always a smiler. I was blessed with my mother's good teeth and my father's sense of humor, and it seldom bothers me to smile for a picture.


But not everyone smiles a lot. From childhood, most women have been told by parents, teachers, relatives, and even complete strangers to "smile." I've been guilty of this myself, but over the years I learned to honor every student's mood and expression. Girls and women in particular can be misunderstood if we don't smile on command. This hit home with me when I read a series of essays in which my female students -- more than a few -- wrote that they were told they had "resting bitch face" and other people thought they were snobbish or angry. I knew these students to be bright, happy, and friendly. Reading those words hurt my heart. Now as a photographer, I strive to not make such assumptions.


The truth is, some people smile a lot and some people don't. I've photographed tons of people who know how to pose and enjoy it, and others who will put their hands in front of their faces every time they see a lens pointed at them. My job as your photographer is do my best to make the whole process enjoyable and relaxing. Will I ask you to smile? Sure. But the one thing I say to my clients most is to NOT do anything that would make them feel uncomfortable.


I will work to get a portfolio with several different genuine expressions. If one of them is a big smile, great! If not, it does not mean you are unhappy or angry. It just means that you smile when you FEEL like smiling.


The finished product should make you feel happy about yourself!

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • w-facebook
  • W-Pinterest

© 2015 by Imagery Photography. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page