top of page

Let's talk headshots



My recent headshot promotion was a success!


I had a great time capturing two young men, an educator and a lawyer. I was thrilled with the results, and I think Adrian and Barton were very happy as well.


Some people are caught a little off guard when they are asked to submit a headshot for an award, a program, or a website. This was the case for me when I was asked recently to submit a portrait for a plaque. I was both flattered by the idea of my image on a plaque and horrified by the school photo my district proposed using. I was in a T shirt because it was a "spirit Friday," and I just had a strange expression on my face. It did not project a professional educator image. So I went through the process of having a photographer take new photos.


In the end, the beautiful plaque does not have an image at all.




But the experience reminded me why people who are not models are reluctant to having a photo taken.


I have worked with a couple of nonprofits who asked for headshots from their presenters. It amazed me how many of them submitted out-of-focus, low resolution snapshots or cut their face from a group photo. Some educators submitted their "school photo," and those were . . . fine. But as anyone who has been in ninth grade remembers, the assembly line experience of the school photo is not always ideal.


Why does it matter?


Because your image should look as professional as you are. It may be the first thing a potential client sees of you. People are liable to judge a person, fair or not, on whether that portrait looks professional, in focus, well-lit, and intentional.

While headshots from a professional can be expensive, keep in mind that there are photographers with a wide range of pricing options. Having a headshot you are proud of is key to your self-confidence as well and the image you project to the world.



No matter who takes your headshot, keep a few things in mind:


1. Make sure your clothes are pressed. It is exceedingly difficult to remove fabric wrinkles in a realistic way.

2. Wear clothing that reflects your position and the image you wish to project. T shirts are fine for many professionals, but avoid images or writing that may look dated or be cut off in an unflattering way. Tiny repeated prints or solids look best.

3. Come with some posing ideas. Your photographer will have some ideas, of course, but most of us welcome clients' input.

4. Don't have your shoulders perpendicular -- have one slightly nearer the camera than the other. The exception is if you want your shoulders to appear broad.

5. Take a breath. It always surprises me how slightly hunched shoulders can appear tense in an image. Take a breath, lower your shoulders, and relax.

6. Most people look best if the camera is slightly above eye level -- but don't rely on extreme angles.



I encourage you to take the risk. And of course, text or call me!


And thank you so much, Adrian and Barton! I can't wait to see your new headshots online!

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • w-facebook
  • W-Pinterest

© 2015 by Imagery Photography. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page