top of page

Senior portrait Q&A part 2

Hi everyone! I appreciate the shares and positive feedback from my blogs, and I hope they are informative. Of course, I want to be YOUR photographer, but I hope this series of Q&A blogs is helpful whether you hire me or another photographer.


So here are a few more questions some seniors may have. I welcome actual questions from you! Email me at cindymil120@gmail.com.

What should I expect to pay for my session and photographs?

The cost varies widely. Photographers with more credentials and/or experience tend to charge more. You are paying for their expertise. And as with most services, you will pay more for photographers that are in demand. There are Austin area photographers who charge $300 or more for a sitting fee, and prints and digital images could run more than $1000. Some offer makeup and styling services that add more to the cost. Those photographers are worth every penny -- but unfortunately, it makes portraits too expensive for many families.

While I am proud of my expertise and education, my mission in senior portraits in particular is to keep my prices within reach of almost any family. Everyone deserves a great portrait experience!


Why do photographers charge so much for digital images?

A photographer who sells their digital image is, in essence, selling publishing rights. Since the photographer is not going to make any more money on that image no matter how many copies the client makes, they often charge a very high price. Many photographers sell small resolution photos suitable for social media for less money, but the expectation is that they will not be altered.


Why is there a watermark on proofs I get? I want to make a digital copy and edit them myself.

It is unethical and illegal to alter watermarked proofs, or any printed images that you buy from a photographer, unless you have WRITTEN permission to do so. By the way, this DOES include the photographer your high school chooses for picture day.

Your photographer makes a living from taking portraits, editing and retouching, and selling those images. Erasing a watermark is taking money from them.

Besides that, a good photographer takes pride in their art. An client-altered image spread on social media can damage a photographer's reputation.


How much retouching should I expect?

It depends on the photographer, so communication here is key. Obviously, technology exists that can make people taller, shorter, thinner, and completely without pores. Those techniques are time-consuming and expensive.

I prefer to do light editing to make you look YOUR best. In general, I will get rid of temporary stuff like flyaway hair or an occasional skin blemish. I usually LIGHTLY fade wrinkles in older clients, but I don't erase them. I will slightly lighten eyes and teeth, but I always want my clients to look natural. I don't add makeup or create "plastic" skin -- that is not my expertise.


I hope those are some answers that are helpful!

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • w-facebook
  • W-Pinterest

© 2015 by Imagery Photography. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page