top of page

Teaching and learning

Welcome to my new blog!

I’m passionate about all types of photography, but I specialize in environmental portraits with a laid-back, relaxed feel. You can see my earlier work on my Blogger posts.

Truthfully, I had my camera pretty much in mothballs from the Help-Portrait-Austin event in early December 2013 until about a month ago. Dealing with family and work, I just did not think I had the time to be a photographer or writer. How wrong I was about that! I am actively seeking opportunities to do both. I think we all need to remember that, no matter what the pressures of “real” life, having a creative outlet is essential to our well-being.

It was wonderful to be able to help two nonprofits in past few weeks. I took photos of teachers learning and having a ton of fun at the annual Fine Arts Summit, presented by the Center for Educator Development in Fine Arts (CEDFA). In this capacity I get to hear inspiring speakers like Turk Pipkin and to see some wonderfully talented young people at the closing session.

Life in Austin can seem idyllic, but there are lots of “hidden” problems. Frankly, I did not think of human trafficking as a major problem in our city, but recent cases have called attention to this horror. Allies Against Slavery is a small but powerful group that has been working with the Austin Police Department to end slavery and to support victims. I was delighted to be able to help them celebrate their fourth birthday on June 24.

Next up, I’m sharpening the saw with an art project. New business cards arrived today, and the new website is coming together. Let me know what you think!

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • w-facebook
  • W-Pinterest

© 2015 by Imagery Photography. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page